Oz Blog News Commentary

Articles from The Tally Room

Victoria 2018 – election day

November 24, 2018 - 11:00 -- Admin

Voters in Victoria will be voting today in their state election – except, that is, for those who have already voted, in record numbers.

As of Thursday night, 1,184,095 early votes had been cast. This is already well ahead of 2014, when a total of 912,967 early votes were cast, and doesn’t take into account those votes cast on Friday (likely in excess of 200,000 votes). As of Wednesday night the VEC reported that early votes cast so far was 65% above the 2014 level.

Victoria 2018 – the preference cabal is back

November 13, 2018 - 10:30 -- Admin

The group voting tickets were released on Sunday, showing how each party will direct its preferences for votes cast above-the-line in each region for the Victorian Legislative Council.

For those still catching up, this is basically the same system used for the Senate up to 2013 (although it is easier to cast a formal below-the-line vote if you wish to opt out). The upper house consists of forty members, with five elected for each of the eight regions.

Victoria and federal candidates update

October 29, 2018 - 10:12 -- Admin

Now that we’re past Wentworth, I wanted to revisit the election guides I have posted for the federal and Victorian state elections.

There are a whole bunch of extra candidates on both guides (particularly Victoria), and I have also listed all the candidates in spreadsheets if you are interested.

Particular thanks to Nick Casmirri who has helped track down a lot of extra candidates.