Oz Blog News Commentary

Articles from The Tally Room

Close seat update – here’s the model

July 6, 2016 - 08:30 -- Admin

We saw a small amount of counting yesterday, but we should be able to narrow the list of undecided seats.

When I last posted, I listed 17 seats as in some doubt. This included 13 conventional Labor-Coalition races, plus Grey and Cowper, where we were waiting on a two-candidate-preferred count, Melbourne Ports where Labor is at a small risk of coming third and losing the seat, and Batman which is a reasonably conventional Labor-Greens race.

Seat summary

Pauline Hanson and the old Senate system

July 5, 2016 - 09:52 -- Admin

There’s been a lot of arguments coming out suggesting that Pauline Hanson and the rest of her team are only contenders for seats thanks to the Senate voting reforms, and the double dissolution.

Clearly a double dissolution made it easier for all small parties, including One Nation, and you can argue that a double dissolution was made possible thanks to Senate voting reform (although it wasn’t necessary to do both).

Looking forward in the close seats

July 3, 2016 - 22:25 -- Admin

I have a list of sixteen seats which I think are close enough to pay further attention over the next few days as more votes flow in.

In this article I want to explain what data we will be receiving which will help us project forward in each electorate and hopefully narrow the number of undecided seats.

The day after – quick update

July 3, 2016 - 12:51 -- Admin

Firstly, apologies for the technical problems last night. I hope that readers were able to follow my commentary as part of the Guardian liveblog. In future if I’m participating in a liveblog somewhere else I’m not going to try and keep my own liveblog going here – I’ll just refer people to that better service. But I will look at technical improvements.

Election eve open thread

July 1, 2016 - 17:06 -- Admin

Polls open on the east coast in fifteen hours. I thought I might open up a quick post to allow commenters to post general comments about the election.

If you have predictions feel free to post them below.

I have had a number of articles up at the Guardian in the last few days.