Oz Blog News Commentary

Articles from The Tally Room

Miranda by-election guide

October 8, 2013 - 10:15 -- Admin

miranda1-2ppA by-election will be held in the NSW state seat of Miranda on 19 October. Miranda covers parts of the Sutherland Shire in southern Sydney.

The seat has traditionally voted Liberal but Barry Collier held the seat for Labor from 1999 to 2011.

German map follow-up

September 26, 2013 - 17:19 -- Admin

I’ve finally finished my post-election maps for Germany, for those who may be interested.

I have updated the maps for the 2013 election on the Maps page to reflect the ‘first vote’ results in each constituency. I have also added a map for the 2005 election. I am missing maps for the four Lander that changed boundaries between 2005 and 2009. If you have any data you can share to help with this, please let me know.

Germany 2013 – Merkel gains swing at expense of allies

September 24, 2013 - 09:15 -- Admin

Angela Merkel’s CDU/CSU parties have gained the largest swings towards them at the 2013 German federal election, with minor parties generally losing ground.

The CDU/CSU gained a large 7.8% swing towards them, with the centre-left Social Democrats gaining a smaller 2.7% swing. The three minor parties with parliamentary seats all suffered negative swings. The left-wing Left Party lost 3.3% and the Greens lost 2.3%.

Post-election gender balance update

September 18, 2013 - 09:15 -- Admin

After an election where the vast majority of candidates running were men, the male-dominated Coalition won seats, and today a new cabinet will be sworn in with only one woman, it may be surprising to know that the number of women in the new Parliament will be increased.

In the House of Representatives, the number of women has increased from 37 in 2010 to 39 in 2013, out of a total of 150.

Friday night counting update

September 13, 2013 - 19:14 -- Admin

As it stands, there are still a bunch of seats left outstanding.

Seven seats are on margins of less than 50.6%, and I’ll run through a couple of key races here:

Apart from these seven seats, the Coalition holds 87 seats, the ALP holds 53 seats, and there are three crossbench seats (Bandt, Katter, Wilkie).